Last Call – State By State Bar Closing Time
Do you know there are two states in the US, that the bars never have to close? Most everybody should at least get one right since it has the city that never sleeps. Nevada and Louisiana do not have a statewide set closing time. So if you want to legally get served a drink at anytime of the night, you will need to be in one of those two states
In a bar, a last call (last orders) is an announcement made shortly before the bar closes for the night, informing patrons of their last chance to buy alcoholic beverages. There are various means to make this signal, like ringing a bell, flashing the lights, or announcing orally. Last call times are often legally mandated and vary widely globally as well as locally. Legislation’s purpose include reducing late-night noise in the neighborhood, traffic accidents, violence, and alcohol-related health problems.
United StatEs – State-specific laws
Alabama: 2 a.m.
Alaska: 5 a.m.; while most cities restrict this further, some do not (primarily smaller Matanuska-Susitna Valley towns), and some villages are dry.
Arizona: 2 a.m.
Arkansas: 2 a.m.
California: 2 a.m. (up to 4 a.m. in after-hours establishments)
Colorado: 2 a.m.
Connecticut: 2 a.m. Friday and Saturday nights. 1 a.m. Sunday through Thursday. 3 a.m. New Year’s Eve (Day)
Delaware: 1 a.m.
District of Columbia: 3 a.m. on Friday night, Saturday night, and the night before a federal or D.C. holiday; 4 a.m. on the night of New Year’s Eve and the beginning of daylight saving time; 2 a.m. other nights. Florida: Last call set statewide to 2 a.m., some cities have passed exemptions to the law, notably Tampa, St. Petersburg, and Pinellas County (3 a.m.), Broward county (4 a.m.) and Miami (24 hours in the Miami Entertainment District). Liquor store closing times vary by county.
Georgia: Varies by county (most are set at 2 a.m., while others may have different times or no time at all). In Atlanta most bars are allowed to close at 2:30 a.m., but Underground Atlanta can operate until 4 a.m.
Hawaii: 4 a.m., however not all bars qualify for a 4 a.m. license and must close at 2 a.m.
Idaho: 2 a.m.
Illinois: 1 a.m. through 3 a.m., varies by municipality. In Chicago for regular license bars 2 a.m. Sunday through Friday with 3 a.m. Saturday. Some bars have a late night license allowing to close two hours later so 4 a.m. Sunday through Friday with 5 a.m. Saturday.
Indiana: 3 a.m. (used to be 12:30 on Sundays, but not anymore)
Iowa: 2 a.m.
Kansas: 2 a.m. (in the 17 counties which allow bars without limitation)
Kentucky: 2 a.m., Louisville bars may stay open till 4am
Louisiana: There is no set statewide closing time. Bars may remain open 24 hours a day, seven days a week. Except, Louisiana law provides:
“The governing authority of any municipality within a parish [Louisiana has parishes instead of counties] with a population between fifty-three thousand and fifty-seven thousand persons according to the most recent federal decennial census may enact ordinances to regulate the closing times of bars located within the municipality, subject to approval by a majority of the qualified electors of the municipality voting at an election held for the purpose.”
Maine: 1 a.m.
Maryland: 2 a.m.
Massachusetts: 2 a.m., although cities and towns can (and frequently do) set last call earlier. Alcohol sales stop 30 minutes prior to closing time.
Michigan: 2 a.m.
Minnesota: 2 a.m., but many cities have a 1 a.m. restriction.
Mississippi: 12:00 Midnight or 1:00 a.m.; depending on city. Larger metro areas usually adhere to “After Midnight” policy. Most Casinos do not have a last call.
Missouri: 1:30 a.m. in most of the state; 3:00 a.m. in specially licensed establishments in the two largest metropolises of St. Louis and Kansas City, and their surrounding areas.
Montana: Last call for bars and taverns is around 1:30 a.m. However, one can purchase beer from many local gas stations and grocery stores until 2 a.m. State law reads, “Agency liquor stores may remain open during the period between 8 a.m. and 2 a.m.” In spite of this, most liquor stores close on or before 10 p.m. with the exception of casino/liquor stores.
Nebraska: 1 a.m.; except for municipalities (Omaha & Lincoln) are allowed to stay open until 2am.
Nevada: There is no set statewide closing time. Bars may remain open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
New Hampshire: Statewide is 1:00 a.m., bars must close at 1:30 a.m. Most call last call at 12:45 a.m.
New Jersey: No statewide closing time. Most municipalities set their last call at 2 a.m. Atlantic City serves 24 hours. Ocean City is a dry town.
New Mexico: 2 a.m.
New York: Under state law, establishments must stop serving alcohol by 4 a.m., however the actual closing time is left up to each of New York’s 62 counties. The 4 a.m. time holds in New York City, but clubs and bars may stay open without serving alcohol; they may start serving at 7 a.m. except on Sunday, when sales begin at noon. Last call is also 4 a.m. in Saratoga Springs, Buffalo, and Albany. Binghamton has a last call of 3 a.m., Syracuse and Rochester have a time of 2 a.m., and Elmira, Geneva, and Ithaca have a time of 1 a.m. Rural counties may be even earlier.
North Carolina: Last call is 2 a.m. statewide. On weekdays and Saturday alcohol can be sold beginning at 7 a.m., on Sunday alcohol sales begin at noon. Liquor stores (ABC) Closed on Sundays.
North Dakota: 1 a.m., however recent legislation allows each county and city by local option to set a 2 a.m. closing time. North Dakota’s closing time is strict. All drinks must be off the tables and the bar closed by the mandatory closing time.
Ohio: Last call is 2 a.m. statewide, although establishments may acquire licenses that allow them to serve until 2:30 a.m. Store-bought beer & wine sales stop at 1 a.m. Liquor over 42 proof may only be purchased in state-approved stores—sales stop at 10 p.m.
Oklahoma: 2 a.m.
Oregon: 2:30 a.m.
Pennsylvania: 2 a.m. in taverns, 3 a.m. in membership-only clubs statewide. Sales may begin as early as 7 a.m. Pennsylvania Liquor Control Board–operated liquor stores (known as “Wine & Spirits Shoppes”, or commonly called “state stores”) operate various hours, but never open before 9 a.m. and never close later than 10 p.m. About ten percent of state stores, most of which are near the borders of the Commonwealth, are open from 12 p.m. to 5 p.m. on Sundays.
Rhode Island: 1 a.m. seven days a week. 2 a.m. in Providence only on Friday and Saturday nights and nights before a state-recognized holiday.
South Carolina: Set by county or municipality. No alcohol sales (on or off premises) is permitted on Sundays, except in Aiken City, SC, Columbia, Charleston, Greenville / North Augusta, SC, Spartanburg, and the Myrtle Beach area.
South Dakota: 2 a.m.
Tennessee: 3 a.m.
Texas: Serving stops at 2 a.m. all drinks must be up by 2:15, Liquor stores can be open from 10 a.m. to 9 p.m. Monday through Saturday. Beer and wine may be sold in other stores until 1 a.m. on Saturdays and until midnight on any other day of the week. Utah: Last call is 1 a.m., and establishments must be closed by 2 a.m.
Vermont: 2 a.m., 3 a.m on New Year’s Eve
Virginia: All drinks must be up by 2 a.m.
Washington: 6 a.m.
West Virginia: 3 a.m.
Wisconsin: 2:00 a.m. Sunday through Thursday, 2:30 a.m. Friday and Saturday. No closing time on New Year’s Eve.